Saving For a Road Trip

Recently I had my best friend surprise me by telling me that my Christmas present is a road trip which I absolutely love. I talked about going on a road trip all summer but never had the time or the money to actually follow through with any of my plans. Normally I might have been a little hesitant or disappointed that she told me what my Christmas present was so far in advance but I’m actually really happy and a little relieved that she did. When she told me about it, she gave me two choices, we could either go on the road trip before Christmas or sometime after Christmas so I decided it would be best to wait and go after. I like waiting for two reasons: first, because it’ll be warmer and everything will have that certain kind of newness to it that only spring can offer and second, because I can make sure that I have enough money to go on the trip instead of going and being in a constant state of worry about money.

Budgeting for a trip can be stressful but it doesn’t have to be as long as you go about it the right way. So, for those of you out there that are also planning a road trip for some time over the course of the next year, I encourage you to push yourself to accept the same challenge that I’m setting forth for myself. My plan is to set aside somewhere between 20 and 40 dollars each paycheck until it’s time for my trip. Right now it doesn’t seem like that’ll be a lot but I know that if I’m consistent with it, it’ll add up and make for a very nice and relaxing road trip especially when you take into consideration that each month equals 2-3 paychecks. You can choose to set aside the same amount that I am every paycheck or if you can afford to set aside more, then you might decide to push yourself to do just that.

-Lara

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

