I Suppose Introductions Are In Order…

Hi everyone! My name is Emily, and I’m a freshman here at UW-La Crosse. Today is my first day at the UW-La Crosse Financial Aid Office. Everyone I’ve met here has been incredibly welcoming and lovely to meet! And overall you really get a feel for how dedicated everyone is to helping UWL students. I’m working as both a “blog poster” as well as a social media aficionado for our Twitter and Facebook accounts. Be sure to follow us on there for any tips and information on upcoming events (and of course, to hear more from me!)

A lot of things have surprised me so far in my being here. First off, holy scholarships Batman! The Scholarship Database was one of the first places I checked out upon getting here and there are so many available.

A few weeks ago, I was sitting in one of my classes and the Professor asked us to stand up if we weren’t sure how we were going to pay for our tuition this semester. At least half of the class stood up, myself included. And yet when he asked the follow up question of “Have you been looking into any resources to help pay?” most of us were left shaking our heads. The general consensus was, we didn’t know where to start.

Then I walked into my first day at the Financial Aid Office and was met with resources upon resources. All this time I was oblivious to what these people could do for not only myself, but for all my peers too! So now I’m making it my purpose to enlighten other students, and to let them know that they are not alone.

So guys, I’m excited to be working with you this year, and I hope that I can help make your college careers a little easier to get through, at least financially. (But if you want a buddy to eat ice cream with you after a bad day, I guess I can offer those services too…)

Have a fantastic week, Eagles!

-Emily

This entry was posted in About, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

