What you NEED for your dorm

Summer is winding down, and move in day is quickly approaching. I can remember all of the nervous/exciting feelings that I had when I was an incoming freshman preparing to move in to the dorms. Moving out of my parents’ house and into the dorms was really my first taste of “sweet freedom” and chance to decorate my own space and make it my own. I feel like all summer, any store I went to, I saw advertisements on “back to school” sales for college students. Stores display all kinds of electronics, furniture, decorations, etc. that you absolutely “need” to make your dorm room complete. I’ll be the first to admit that a lot of these things are definitely nice and tempting to buy, but also many of them are things that you really don’t need or even have the space for. That being said, here is a list of things that I think are a definite necessity for living in the dorms:

  • FANS! With no A/C, your first few weeks in the dorms are going to be hot, my friends. Box fans are a definite must.
  • A shower caddy, towels, and shower shoes. These items are also all very important. You don’t want to have to carry all of your bathroom supplies by hand each time you make a trip.
  • A microwave. During a snowstorm in the middle of winter the walk to Whitney isn’t always appealing, so you’ll be glad to have access to some Easy Mac.
  • If you and your roommate are lofting your beds, I’d suggest investing in a futon or some bean bag chairs.

These items are just a few of the big staple items to make sure that you have, in my opinion. I would also like to add that while there are a lot of great sales at stores for these items, a lot of the things you’ll need can be bought at yard sales and thrift shops. Most of the time you can find items just as nice, and for a price that will make your college student wallet a lot happier. This is especially true if you and your roommate decide that you want to have a TV or access to your own printer.

Good luck and happy dorm shopping to you all!

~Alexis

P.S. If you’re looking for cheap dishware for your dorm room, lots of campus clubs and organizations hand out free things at booths during the first few weeks of classes. (Hint Hint: The Scholarship Resource Center has free cups!!)

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

