Summer goals update

Hey all! It’s been a little while since I’ve posted about my summer financial challenge, so I thought that I would give you an update! I’ve been keeping up with putting away that $25.00 each week, and so far this summer I’ve saved $125.00. As you know, when I first started trying to save more at the beginning of the summer, I was a little skeptical about whether or not I would be able to accomplish my goals. However, the more money I see being put away, the more motivated I am to keep going. This motivation has made it easier for me to decide not to spend money on things that I don’t really need, and honestly I’m pretty proud of myself so far!  It feels good knowing that I’ve got a bit of a financial cushion going for myself for after graduation.

In addition to saving $25.00 a week, you also know that I wanted to pay $100.00 toward my student loans each month. The end of June is just about here so I decided to go ahead and make my first payment today. Even though $100.00 isn’t much in comparison to the total amount in loans that I owe, I don’t feel so overwhelmed by my debt knowing that I’ve got a plan started now, as opposed to just avoiding my debt until after graduation.

With all of this being said, this is called a challenge for a reason. I am human, and I do find myself making financial slipups every now and then. However, that’s okay. I’d rather be making mistakes while on my way to achieving a goal than to not be working toward a goal at all.

Happy savings!

~Alexis

This entry was posted in Debt, Financial Challenges, Loans, Save and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

