Get your #UWLScholarships on!

Creating a plan with your own finances is a great way to begin tackling your student loans, but believe it or not, there is still one more thing you can do to get ahead: apply for SCHOLARSHIPS!! I’ll be the first to admit that I haven’t really taken full advantage of my status as a student and applied for scholarships. I can think of tons of reasons why I’ve never really taken the time to look into applying for scholarships: I didn’t think I would win one, I don’t want to write a long essay, I don’t have the time, I don’t know where to even find a scholarship, etc. If we’re being honest here, though, those are all just lame excuses I made for myself to get out of doing a little bit of work. And I know I’m not alone on this matter. A few months ago, however, I took part in a scholarship contest that changed my outlook on scholarships. Here’s what I learned:

  • If you never apply for a scholarship, you’ll never win a scholarship. By not applying, you’re already setting yourself up for failure.
  • We’re all busy and have a lot going on, but that’s not an excuse. If you have time during the day to check your social media pages or watch Netflix, you’ve got at least 1 hour during the week to apply for scholarships.
  • Not all scholarship contests are essay contests. There are plenty of scholarships that are just “click and apply.”
  • The Financial Aid office at UW-L works hard to create resources available to students about scholarships. There are scholarship resources listed on the Financial Aid website (http://www.uwlax.edu/finaid/Scholarships/) and there is also a new Scholarship Resource Center that has been created (just search UW- La Crosse Scholarship Resource Center on Facebook).

Now that we’re all out of excuses, what are you waiting for? Go get your #UWLScholarships on!

~Alexis

This entry was posted in Earn, Financial Challenges, Save and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

